November 11, 2006

Zero Waste – an impressive goal

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:18 pm by skijumper

 I really am not obsessed with Castlegar.  Truly.  However, as part of NaBloPoMo I must post everyday in November.  It is about this time of the evening when things slow down and I think – oh, gee, I haven’t posted anything today.  Now, on the rare occasion I have posted before 8pm, even noon, so don’t class me with those procrastinating types.  I prefer to think that I have been fulfilling my purpose in other life activities.  And believe me, it has been quite a day.  The final straw was definitely my husband passing out on the bathroom floor as a result of a vile gastro bug that has now jumped through each and every family member.  At any rate, I digress. 

While waiting for a topic worthy of some attention to POP into my head I merely browsed some sites of interest.  Well, lo and behold, Castlegar News had another tasty tidbit.  My blog this evening is to point out a rather interesting collective goal – one that we should all consider as achievable. 

What is zero waste? Imagine a world where there is no garbage. Nothing is thrown away. There are no garbage cans, no garbage trucks, and no landfills. Sound bizarre? Maybe a bit primitive? Or maybe something out of a science fiction movie set on a space station? Well the regional districts of Central Kootenay (RDCK) and Kootenay Boundary (RDKB) have adopted goals of Zero Waste that have as the ultimate goal the elimination of garbage.

Source: BCNG Portals Page

 

Leave a Reply

