November 15, 2006

UnNatural Greenthumb – Bumbling in the Garden

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:37 pm by skijumper

 Gee, I really love spending time in the garden.  I love pulling weeds, planting seeds, transplanting, getting dirty, watering, and harvesting from my garden.  Sadly, I don’t spend much time doing any of these things.  I would love to have a big veggie patch, a waterwise garden, compost heap, pretty flowers and the time to really be a good gardener.  Maybe I will someday.  In the hope of becoming that natural greenthumb I am starting to think about growing my gardening skills.  I will need to do a bit of research, lots of reading, some shopping and hopefully lots of digging and planting.  Looking towards spending the next growing season in BC I did a quick search and found some very helpful information.  A good place to find all the basics is GardenWise BC.  They have great tips for both plant selection and overall landscaping and have included this helpful calendar to help us get things done (GTD) in the garden.

BC Garden Calendar

To own a bit of ground, to scratch it with a hoe, to plant seeds, and watch the renewal of life 
this is the commonest delight of the race, the most satisfying thing a man can do.

Charles Dudley Warner (1829-1900), from My Summer in a Garden (1870)

Every season in the garden brings with it new pleasures and new opportunities to perpetuate its beauty and vigour. To keep your garden healthy and looking good, get into the habit of doing regular maintenance. Here’s a simple month-by-month planner to guide you through the year.

Source: GardenWise – BC Garden Calendar

 

Technorati tags: , , ,
Leave a Reply

